Franck Ezan Ivorian, b. 1994

Franck Ezan explores the complexity of humanity from both a psychological and physiological point of view. It is from his personal story that he draws the necessary questioning for his creative work. An intimate story, full of experiences linked to a childhood as tormented as it was happy.  

Born in Abidjan (Ivory Coast) in 1994, Franck grew up in an orphanage with his twin brother, also a visual artist. After five years at the National School of Fine Arts in Abidjan, he graduated with a Master 2 in painting in 2020.
His relationship with others, his deep torments and especially his relationship with his brother, his true double in appearance, will be the elements at the origin of the choices that shaped his path and influenced his artistic approach. He draws spectral-looking characters, somewhat lost in a universe of images and symbols, and covers them with lines in the form of fingerprints, the only marks that differentiate him from his twin brother. He sculpts their faces in a translucent substance without specifying their features. But does physical appearance really matter when one lives with his identically reproduced face?

Ezan wants to reinvent the world in his own way, to sublimate it. He creates an enchanted universe, where the generosity of colors and shapes take a singular path and give their poetic character to his works. In his own words, his work "has the vocation to sublimate, to re-enchant a world anaesthetized by doubt and frightened by differences".

Patiently, he develops a work of plastic research and throws the foundations of an approach that he enriches and perfects over the course of his projects.

Franck Ezan Ivorian, 1994

Franck Ezan explore la complexité de l'être humain tant du point de vue psychologique que physiologique. C'est dans son histoire personnelle qu'il puise le questionnement nécessaire à son travail de création. Une histoire intime, empreinte d'expériences liées à une enfance aussi tourmentée qu'heureuse.  

Né à Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire) en 1994, Franck grandit en orphelinat avec son frère jumeau, lui aussi artiste plasticien.  Après cinq années à l'Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts d'Abidjan, il sort diplômé d'un Master 2 en peinture en 2019 

Son rapport aux autres, ses tourments profonds et surtout sa relation avec son frère, son véritable double en apparence, constitueront les éléments à l'origine des choix qui ont tracé son cheminement et qui influencent sa démarche artistique. Il dessine des personnages d’apparence spectrale un peu perdus dans un univers d’images et de symboles et les recouvre de lignes en forme d’empreintes digitales, les seuls signes qui le différencient de son frère jumeau.  Il en sculpte les visages dans une matière translucide sans pour autant en préciser les traits. Mais l’aspect physique a-t-il une réelle importance ?

Ezan souhaite réinventer le monde à sa façon, le sublimer. Il créé un univers enchanté, ou la générosité des couleurs et des formes empruntent un chemin singulier et confèrent leur caractère poétique à ses œuvres. Selon ses propres termes, son travail « a vocation à sublimer, à ré-enchanter un monde anesthésié par le doute et épouvanté par la différence ».

Patiemment, il  développe un travail de recherche plastique et jette les prémices d’une démarche qu'il enrichit et perfectionne au fil des projets.