Essoh Sess Ivorian, b. 1988

An avid reader since childhood, literature, philosophy and the dialectics of language play a major role in Sess Essoh's life and work. In his increasingly abstract painting, he links history, sociology, and imagination to his art to focus his ideas on the places and means of achieving an ideal and liberation both tangible and longed for.

Born in Toupah (Dabou region in the south of Côte d'Ivoire) in 1988, Sess Essoh graduated from the National School of Fine Arts of Abidjan in 2012 with a Master's Degree in Art (Master II, option Mural Art). He lives and works in Abidjan, Bingerville where he has his studio and Dabou.

His current practice is invested in the exploration of his socio-political environment and a society losing its bearings and values, as he feels it through his readings, his discussions with friends and debates on social networks. The artist questions our collective memory, using a process of collages and graphemes that he places either on sometimes unexpected supports (cardboard materials, pages of archives, etc. ...), or on canvas. These graphemes draw and suggest figurines, masks, statuettes and challenge us to go beyond pretences in search of new horizons, another chapter of History.

Lecteur passionné depuis son enfance, la littérature, la philosophie et la dialectique du langage jouent un rôle majeur dans la vie et l'œuvre de Sess Essoh. Dans sa peinture de plus en plus abstraite, il relie l'histoire, la sociologie, l'imagination à son art pour concentrer ses idées sur les lieux et les moyens d'atteindre un idéal et une libération à la fois réels et désirés.

Né à Toupah (région de Dabou au sud de la Côte d’Ivoire) en 1988, Sess Essoh obtient son diplôme d’Études Supérieures Artistiques (Master II, option Art Mural) de l’École Nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Abidjan en 2012.  Il vit et travaille à Abidjan, Bingerville où il a son atelier et Dabou.

Sa pratique actuelle s'investie dans l'exploration de son environnement socio-politique et d'une société qu'il juge en perte de ses repères et de ses valeurs, telle qu'il la ressent à travers ses lectures, ses discussions entre amis et les débats sur les réseaux sociaux. L'Artiste interroge notre mémoire collective, à l’aide d’un procédé de collages et de graphèmes qu’il pose soit sur des supports parfois inattendus (supports cartonnés, pages d'archives, etc…), soit sur toile. Ces graphèmes dessinent et suggèrent des figurines, des masques, des statuettes et nous interpellent pour aller au-delà des faux-semblants afin de scruter de nouveaux horizons, un autre chapitre de l’Histoire.