Man Dan: Obou's Solo Show

22 September - 12 November 2022

"Man Dan" is the incarnation of Obou, as an author sharing the story of this native Ivorian, who, while introducing Berlin to the people of Abidjan, sheds new light on their own reality.

LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery is pleased to present “Man Dan”, the First solo show of Obou Gbais, from September 22 to November 12, 2022.

 

“Man Dan” appears both as a deepening culmination of Obou’s work, and the testing ground of a thriving reflexion on new modes of representation.

 

The term “Man” refers both to a ″man″ in German and to the name of the town where Obou comes from. Man brings together the duality of the artist: a visual artist living in Germany and a spokesperson for his Dan culture. ″Man Dan” embodies the multi-faceted Obou: returning to the roots, a critical reflection on Ivorian and European societies, and a fresh look at the future of an artistic creation.

 

Between Ivory Coast and Germany, Obou Gbais invites us to discover two worlds and creates through his art, a bridge between both countries. Struck by the rectilinear and imposing architecture of Friedenau (Berlin), so far from the curves and animation of Locodjro district (Abidjan), Obou emphasizes the structural differences which reveal different history and mentalities. In the middle of his landscapes, the Dan mask always appears as a tribute to his native land and to ancestral traditions. Thus reintegrating the mask into the contemporary sphere, Obou gives it a meaning at the heart of Ivorian society and a positive and festive aura.

 

The dual identity of "Man Dan" also leads to a social and cultural reflection. When confronted with European museums, Obou discovers a fertile ground of inspiration reflecting his cultural mix, which can be observed in his interpretations of masterpieces of great painters, including Klimt and Delacroix. Discovering African masks in European museums also brings new perspectives to Obou's approach. The artist thus considers the essential role of these masks in communitarian development and the importance of their appropriation by African societies.

 

Lastly, as he felt concerned with the ecological awareness of German people, Obou wants to be the spokesperson of this movement in Ivory Coast. With his recycled plastic masks, the artist modernizes an ancestral practice using recycled materials and integrating the contemporary environmental issues.

 

"Man Dan"  acts as a discreet narrator, navigating through time and continents : he is an actor witnessing two realities that influence and confront each other at the same time. "Man Dan" is the incarnation of Obou, as an author sharing the story of this native Ivorian, who, while introducing Berlin to the people of Abidjan, sheds new light on their own reality.

Man Dan: Obou Gbais

22 Septembre - 12 Novembre 2022

″Man Dan″ est l’incarnation d’Obou auteur, partageant l’histoire de cet enfant du pays qui, tout en faisant découvrir Berlin aux Ivoiriens, jette une nouvelle lumière sur leur propre réalité.

 

LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery a le plaisir de présenter “Man Dan”, la Première exposition personnelle de Obou Gbais, du 22 septembre au 12 novembre 2022.

 

“Man Dan” apparaît à la fois comme un approfondissement, un aboutissement dans le travail d’Obou, et comme le terrain d’expérimentation d’une pensée en effervescence vers de nouveaux modes de représentation. Le terme “Man” fait référence aussi bien à “l’homme” en Allemand qu’au nom de la ville dont Obou est originaire. Man réunit les deux identités de l’artiste : à la fois plasticien installé en Allemagne et porte-parole de sa culture Dan. “Man Dan”, c’est Obou et ses multiples facettes : un retour aux sources, une réflexion critique sur les sociétés Ivoirienne et Européenne, et un regard neuf sur l’avenir de la création artistique.

 

Entre la Côte d’Ivoire et l’Allemagne, Obou Gbais nous invite à découvrir deux mondes et son art crée une passerelle entre ces deux univers. Frappé par l’architecture à la fois rectiligne et imposante de Friedenau (Berlin), si loin des courbes et de l’animation du quartier de Locodjro (Abidjan), Obou met l’accent sur les différences structurelles qui révèlent une histoire et des mentalités distinctes.

 

Au milieu de ses paysages apparait toujours le masque Dan, hommage à sa terre natale et aux traditions ancestrales. En réintégrant ainsi le masque dans la sphère contemporaine, Obou lui redonne un sens au cœur de la société Ivoirienne et lui confère une aura positive et festive.

 

La double appartenance du “Man Dan” ouvre également une réflexion sociale et culturelle. Confronté aux musées européens, Obou y découvre un terreau fertile d’inspiration reflétant son mélange de cultures, perceptible à travers ses interprétations des chefs-d’œuvre de grands maîtres, parmi lesquels Klimt et Delacroix. Découvrir les masques Africains dans les musées Européens ouvre également de nouvelles perspectives dans la réflexion d’Obou. L’artiste se penche ainsi sur le rôle fondamental de ces masques dans la construction d’une communauté et l’importance de leur appropriation par les sociétés Africaines. 

 

Enfin, touché par la conscience écologique de la population Allemande, Obou se veut le porte-parole de cette dynamique sur le sol Ivoirien. A travers ses masques de plastique recyclé, l’artiste modernise une pratique ancestrale à partir de matériaux de récupération et y intègre les problématiques environnementales actuelles.

 

“Man Dan” agit donc à la manière d’un narrateur discret, naviguant à travers les époques et les continents, témoin actif de deux réalités qui s’influencent et se confrontent dans un même temps. ″Man Dan″ est l’incarnation d’Obou auteur, partageant l’histoire de cet enfant du pays qui, tout en faisant découvrir Berlin aux Ivoiriens, jette une nouvelle lumière sur leur propre réalité.