ArtX Lagos: Online Art Fair

2 - 9 December 2020
Overview

LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery is happy to participate in the 5th edition of Art X Lagos. For this virtual edition, from December 2 to December 9, the Gallery will showcase the works of Nu Barreto, Abladé Glover and Essoh Sess on the platforms of ArtX and Artsy.

On this occasion, the gallery highlights the richness of African talent and brings together the works of three generations of artists from the continent.

 

SESS ESSOH (Ivory Coast)
As a polymorphic artist, Sess Essoh maintains an intimate relationship with words, which he uses systematically in his work. Refusing to be categorized, he deploys a wide range of techniques that he uses to serve a free and unconstrained discourse. Constantly searching for new media, the unusual or ephemeral materials he uses give his works a unique character and a strong emotional charge.

NU BARRETO (Guinea-Bissau)
Through a strong symbolism expressed in shapes, colors and patterns, Nu Barreto draws attention to the many scourges that strike and gangrene his country and the entire African continent. His work is based on a mixed technique combining drawing, collage and recovery.

ABLADE GLOVER (Ghana)
Woman is one of Ablade Glover's favorite themes and is a recurring theme in his work. He thus approaches the female figure in all its complexity by exploring all its facets and postures: mother, sister, lover, daughter. His knife painting technique blurs the boundaries between abstraction and figuration while bringing a vibrant and lively touch to his compositions.

(Orphélie Thalmas - https://culturiche.agency)

Works

Nu Barreto:

Bones (2018) :Threads Acrylic Amulets On Canvas Mounted On Wood 200 X 318 X 5 cm 

Courtesy LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery

ArtX Lagos: Online Art Fair

2 - 9 Décembre 2020
Présentation

LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery est heureuse de participer à la 5ème édition d'Art X Lagos. Pour cette édition virtuelle, la Galerie présentera, du 2 au 9 Décembre 2020,  les œuvres de Nu Barreto, Abladé Glover et Essoh Sess, sur les plateformes d'ArtX Lagos et Artsy.

A cette occasion, la galerie met à l’honneur la richesse des talents africains et fait dialoguer les œuvres de trois générations d’artistes originaires du continent.

 

SESS ESSOH  (Côte d’Ivoire)

Artiste polymorphe, Sess Essoh entretient une relation particulière aux mots qu’il emploie de manière systématique dans son œuvre. Refusant d’être catégorisé, il déploie un large éventail de techniques qu’il met au service d’un discours libre et dégagé de toutes contraintes. En quête permanente de nouveaux supports, les matériaux insolites ou éphémères qu’il utilise confèrent à ses œuvres un caractère unique et une forte charge émotionnelle.

 

NU BARRETO (Guinée-Bissau)

A travers une symbolique forte exprimée dans les formes, les couleurs et les motifs, Nu Barreto attire l’attention sur les nombreux fléaux qui frappent et gangrènent son pays et le continent africain tout entier. Son œuvre repose sur une technique mixte alliant dessin, collage et récupération

 

ABLADE GLOVER (Ghana)

La femme est l’un des thèmes favoris d’Ablade Glover et revient de manière récurrente dans son œuvre. Il y aborde ainsi la figure féminine dans toute sa complexité en explorant toutes les facettes et postures que celle-ci peut revêtir : la mère, la sœur, l’amante, la fille. Sa technique de peinture au couteau brouille les frontières entre abstraction et figuration tout en apportant une touche vibrante et vivante à ses compositions.

(Orphélie Thalmas - https://culturiche.agency)

Œuvres

Nu Barreto:

Bones (2018) :Threads Acrylic Amulets On Canvas Mounted On Wood 200 X 318 X 5 cm 

Courtesy LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery