FNB Art Joburg: Johannesburg Art Fair online

6 - 18 November 2020
Overview

For her first participation at FNB Johannesburg Art Fair, LouiSimone Guirandou Gallery will showcase the artworks of three artists: Nù Barreto, N'Doye Douts and Claudie Dimbeng.

 Each in their own "words", bring up the blurred physical presence of the home country, and sometimes the disarrays of exile, for too many of its youth who has to flee the native patria for this place, this new Home, where they are hopeful of finding a safety condition.

Through a strong symbolic expressed in forms, colors and patterns, Nù Barreto draws attention to the many scourges (poverty, suffering, discrimination ...) that plague his country and the African continent leading so often her youth to the dangerous roads of exile.

The Medina, the Dakar neighborhood of his youth, is the heart of N’Doye Douts' inspiration. It is the home place that his painting explores and transfigures, the colorful entanglements of shapes, materials and colors, the reciprocal contaminations of architecture and life, the lines around which the city that never leaves his mind stretches and floats in space.

 Lastly, Dimbeng's Series: "Behind the Water..." symbolizes the hopes leading to exile, and denounces the distress of the African migrants, especially during the crossing of the Mediterranean Sea and its countless drowning’s.

Works

FNB Art Joburg: Johannesburg Art Fair online

6 - 18 Novembre 2020
Présentation

Pour sa première participation à la FNB Johannesburg Art Fair, la galerie LouiSimone Guirandou présentera les œuvres de trois artistes : Nù Barreto, N'Doye Douts et Claudie Dimbeng.

Chacun avec ses propres "mots", évoque la présence physique et floue du pays d'origine et parfois les désarrois de l'exil, pour un trop grand nombre de ses jeunes fuyant la mère patrie pour ce lieu, ce nouveau foyer, où ils espèrent trouver la sécurité.

A travers une symbolique forte exprimée dans les formes, les couleurs et les motifs, Nù Barreto attire l'attention sur les nombreux fléaux (pauvreté, souffrance, discrimination ...) qui frappent son pays et le continent africain conduisant si souvent sa jeunesse sur les dangereuses routes de l'exil.

La Médina, le quartier de Dakar de sa jeunesse, est le cœur de l'inspiration de

 

N'Doye Douts. C'est le lieu de vie que sa peinture explore et transfigure, les enchevêtrements colorés des formes, des matières et des couleurs, les contaminations réciproques de l'architecture et de la vie, les lignes autour desquelles s'étire et flotte dans l'espace la ville qui ne quitte jamais son esprit.

 

Enfin, la série de Dimbeng : "Derrière l'eau..." symbolise les espoirs qui mènent à l'exil, et dénonce la détresse des migrants, africains notamment, lors de la traversée de la Méditerranée et de ses innombrables noyades.

Œuvres