TADJO & TADJO: Michèle & Véronique Tadjo

5 March - 18 April 2020
Overview

“The best inheritance, the richest patrimony that a father [or a mother] can leave for his [or her] children, is the glory of their virtues and their worthy deeds” (Cicero, from De Officiis, “On Duty,” c. 44 BCE).

 

The exhibit “Tadjo & Tadjo” presents the ornaments-jewelry created by Michèle Tadjo alongside canvases and installations by her daughter, Véronique. The theme of patrimony is considered within the frame of a family, but also on a national, global, and environmental scale.

“What man has before him, is his past,” said Oscar Wilde. Michèle Tadjo’s gifts to her daughter are both horizontal and vertical: an emotional, cultural and artistic exchange that results in a fusion that is at once ephemeral, utopic, and also deeply rooted.

Michèle Tadjo was a great collector of traditional African art; she was convinced that there is nothing more modern that traditional art. Her jewelry is evidence of this. Sharing her mother’s passion, Véronique has, in her literary works, sought to develop an “atemporal narration.” As she moved from writing to illustration, her exploration of the visual arts brought her closer to Michèle, above and beyond their family bonds. Because she shares Michèle’s passion for politics and urban planning, Véronique is also quite attuned to the driving questions of our day and to the environmental legacy we will leave for future generations. She explores these questions in her installations.

What traces of us will remain when our lives have passed? Echoing Cicero’s lessons, Véronique builds, day after day, on the immaterial patrimony bequeathed to her by Michèle, a legacy that she will, in turn, transmit: a memory that she entrusts to us, like the baton in a relay race. 

 
Works

TADJO & TADJO: Michèle & Véronique Tadjo

5 Mars - 18 Avril 2020
Présentation

« Le meilleur héritage et le plus riche patrimoine qu'un père [qu’une mère] puisse laisser à ses enfants, c'est la gloire de ses vertus et de ses belles actions …» (Cicéron in Le traité des devoirs, env. 44 A.J.-C.)

L’exposition « Tadjo & Tadjo » allie les parures-bijoux de Michèle Tadjo aux toiles et installations de sa fille Véronique. Le thème du patrimoine est ici interprété au niveau familial mais également national, global et environnemental.

« Ce que l’homme a devant lui, c’est son passé », disait O. Wilde. La transmission de Michèle à Véronique se fait ici horizontalement et verticalement : transmission émotionnelle, culturelle et artistique qui conduit à la fusion dans ce qu’elle a d’éphémère et d’utopique tout en étant profonde et tenace.

Michèle Tadjo était une grande collectionneuse d’Art traditionnel Africain, convaincue qu’il n’y a pas plus moderne que l’art traditionnel. Ses bijoux en portent la marque. Partageant sa passion, Véronique a, dans son œuvre littéraire, cherché la « narration intemporelle ». Puis, de l’écriture à l’illustration, elle passe aux arts visuels se rapprochant de Michèle au-delà des liens biologiques de parenté. Et, tout autant que Michèle passionnée par la politique et la gestion de la cité, Véronique est très sensible aux questions de son temps et à l’héritage environnemental que recevront les générations qui viennent. Elle traduit ces questionnements dans ses installations.

Que reste-t-il de nos traces lorsque la vie s’évapore ? Faisant écho à la pensée de Cicéron, Véronique construit, jour après jour, sur le patrimoine immatériel que Michèle lui a légué, héritage qu’à son tour elle transmettra ; une mémoire qu’elle nous confie tel le témoin des courses de relai.

LSG Gallery

Œuvres